

MINISTRY OF TOURISM REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Private Bag X424, Pretoria, 0001, South Africa. Tel. (+27 12) 444 6780, Fax (+27 12) 444 7027 Private Bag X9154, Cape Town, 8000, South Africa. Tel. (+27 21) 469 5800, Fax: (+27 21) 465 3216

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY:

QUESTION FOR ORAL REPLY:

Question Number: 219

Date of Publication: 15 June 2020

NA IQP Number: 21

Date of reply: 23 June 2020

Mr P G Moteka (EFF) to ask the Minister of Tourism:

What number of businesses that received assistance of R50 000 out of the total amount of R200 million that was allocated towards Covid-19 relief funding are black-owned and from villages, townships and/or small towns?

NO1547E

REPLY:

The total number of applications approved is 2112. Of these, 1034 are level B-BBEE (100% black owned), 54 are level 2 (mixed owners – that include black people). The two combined make up 51.6% of approved businesses which are black owned.

The total amount approved thus far is just over R105 million.

Applications processed per province.

Eastern Cape

The department has supported about 136 businesses black-owned within the villages and small towns based in Kwetyana Location, Alfred Nzo, Baysville, Bizana, Stirling, Tsolo Dutyine, Quigney Matiele, Mdantsane, Mqanduli, Mtatha, Nahoon, Ntabankulu, Butterworth, Port Alfred, Mount Frere, Queenstown, Sterkspruit, Uitenhage and Vincent.

Free State

The department has supported about 35 businesses black-owned and from small towns and villages and Townships such as Phuthaditjaba and Virginia.

Gauteng

The department has supported about 276 businesses black-owned from villages, townships and small towns based in Atteridgeville, Dinokeng, Kagiso, Katlehong, Lenasia, Lotus Garden, Mamaboloville, Modderfontein, Newtown, Soweto, Sebokeng, Soshanguve, Spruitview, Tembisa, Garankuwa, Ratanda Heidelberg, Rietfontein, Doornpoort, Grootvlei, Bronkhorspruit, Olifantsfontein and Springs.

Kwazulu Natal

The department has supported about 179 businesses black-owned and based in townships and small towns such as, Igula, Kwamashu, Chatsworth, Nongoma, Phoenix, Pongola, Dargie, Driefontein, Eshowe, Bergville, Margate, Newcastle, Pietermaritzburg, Richards Bay, St Lucia, Stanger, Umlazi, Vryheid, Westville, and Winterton.

Limpopo

The department has supported about 103 businesses black-owned and are based in townships and small towns such as, Malamulele, Mankweng, Mokopane, Budeli Village, Senwabarwana, Seshego, Thokwane Village, Lebowakgomo, Dzanani, Bela-Bela, Hoedspruit, Louis Trichardt, Musina, Phalaborwa, Sibasa, Thohoyandou and Tzaneen.

Mpumalanga

The department has supported about 57 businesses black-owned and based in townships and small towns such as, Hluvukani, Langeloop, Nkangala, Steenbok Village, Thulamahashe, Ximhungwe Acornhoek, Graskop, Hazyview, Komatiepoort, Marloth Park, Nelspruit, White River and Witbank.

North West

The department has supported about 56 business black-owned and are based in townships and small towns such as, Dihatshwane Village, Tlhabane, Letlhabile, Mmotla, Mogwase, Montshiwa, Phokeng, Shupingstadt, Brits, Klerksdorp, Lichtenburg, Mahikeng, Mmabatho, Potchefstroom, Rustenburg, Vryburg and Zeerust.

Northern Cape

The department has supported about 34 black businesses black-owned based in townships and small towns such as, Galeshewe, Kuruman and Victoria West.

Western Cape

The department has supported about 158 black owned based in townships and small towns such as, Elsies Rivier, Gugulethu, Khayelitsha, Bo Kaap, George, Knysna, Kuilsrivier, Matroosfontein, and Strandfontein.